0x10.02 - Thanks Zara

Over the next few days, # freedomnia explored the possibilities. But they were going around in circles a bit.

domkarch @ pixabay
domkarch @ pixabay

Just the operation itself would require funds they did not have. And then, you would have to know people in the area, have a hospital, a surgeon who wouldn't ask questions ...

The solution ended up coming from Zara. After leaving for Morocco, she had tried to find a normal life. But it was impossible not to think of the Academy and the fact that there were still people there who had asked for nothing.

She had recently contacted # freedomnia to find out if she could help them from outside Europe.

They had exposed their problem to him. Zara had a surgeon uncle. Renowned enough to have a few entrees all over the place. And a family that had the money and were grateful for getting it out of the Academy. Zara's family offered # freedomnia to fund Quentin's surgery.

It was decided that Zara and her uncle would meet Quentin and Erin in Istanbul. There, Zara's uncle would use his influence to gain access to an operating room and staff in a hospital, to be able to operate on Quentin without too many questions being asked.

False papers were prepared for shipment, and the little troop winced as to be unrecognizable. Nightowl and Cherry would stay at HQ.

Early in the morning, Erin and Quentin took the car with Fluke and Omen, two members of # freedomnia who would ensure communication with HQ. It had taken a lot of persuasion for Erin to convince the others to let her go with Quentin. As an implant carrier, she was an asset to # freedomnia. But since # freedomnia's leitmotif was freedom, they didn't stop him from leaving. Erin also reminded them that everyone left Pierre alone, even though he too had an implant ...

The # freedomnia members finally understood, and he was assured that it was not a week away, that Cherry was there anyway, as well as Victor and Alexis.

The road was easy. The Academy may have long arms and the backing of governments, as it was a hidden body, but they could not afford to put an entire country under siege to find fugitives.

Crossing the border was a bit more stressful. But the false papers and disguises did their job, and the little troop found themselves in Turkey. The next day they reached Istanbul. Zara and her uncle were waiting for them in a small hotel in the city center. Quentin didn't speak Turkish, but thanks to Zara's uncle, Fahim, and Erin and her implant, he was able to understand what was being said to him.

They followed Zara's uncle to a small hospital on the outskirts of town, leaving the others at the hotel. There, Zara's uncle was ushered into the headmaster's office. Erin could only see their shadows behind the opaque glass that separated the office from the hallway. She wondered what he was talking about, but eventually they saw Zara's uncle pulling a wad of cash from his pocket, giving it to the Headmaster. Soon after, they left the office. The uncle moved closer to Zara, Erin and Quentin.

— "We have three days," said Fahim.

— What do you mean ?! Quentin replied.

— He can give us three days of peace. With what I gave him, he guaranteed that he could buy the silence of his employees and give me the equipment and a team for the operation. But in three days, he would rather we left the scene. He cannot guarantee that there is no arguing in the hallways and that the fact that we are there will be publicized.

— Three days is short! It could put Quentin in danger of hurrying so much! Erin exclaimed.

"No more than you have been," Quentin replied. You told me that at the Academy, you were out of the hospital in one day.

— Yes, but it's not the same, they knew what they were doing with their implant. We recreated one from scratch with incomplete specifications, and with our knowledge of physiology. But we have no idea what we're really doing ...

— You are a defeatist, Erin. I trust Pierre, who recreated the implant. Alexis and Victor even had a CT scan lately to get the exact spot of the chip. And, I also trust Fahim, who trusts Zara.

— OKAY. "

The operation went well, and Quentin woke up after a day. Erin stayed by his side the whole time, only slipping away to give information about the mission and the state of health to the # freedomnia members who remained at the hotel, who relayed the information to people at HQ. After two days, Quentin was in great shape. Sure enough, Fahim was an ace, and the transaction posed no problems. Quentin looked like he had no after-effects.

0x10.02 - Merci Zara

Les jours suivants, #freedomnia étudia les possibilités. Mais ils tournaient un peu en rond.

domkarch @ pixabay
domkarch @ pixabay

Rien que l’opération en elle-même demanderait des fonds dont ils ne disposaient pas. Et puis, il faudrait connaître du monde dans le milieu, disposer d’un hôpital, d’un chirurgien qui ne poserait pas de questions…

La solution finie par venir de Zara. Après être partie au Maroc, elle avait tenté de retrouver une vie normale. Mais il lui était impossible de ne pas penser à l’Académie et au fait qu’il restait du monde, là-bas, qui n’avait rien demandé.

Elle était entrée en contact il y a peu avec #freedomnia afin de savoir si elle pourrait leur venir en aide, de l’extérieur de l’Europe.

Ils lui avaient exposé leur problème. Zara avait un oncle chirurgien. Assez renommé pour avoir quelques entrées un peu partout. Et une famille qui avait de l’argent et qui était reconnaissante de l’avoir tiré de l’Académie. La famille de Zara proposa à #freedomnia de financer l’opération de Quentin.

Il fut décidé que Zara et son oncle retrouveraient Quentin et Erin à Istanbul. Là, l’oncle de Zara userait de son influence pour avoir accès à un bloc opératoire et du personnel dans un hôpital, pouvoir opérer Quentin sans que l’on ne pose trop de questions.

Des faux papiers furent préparés pour l’expédition, et la petite troupe se grima pour ne pas être reconnaissable. Nightowl et Cerise resteraient au QG.

Au petit matin, Erin et Quentin prirent la voiture avec Fluke et Omen, deux membres de #freedomnia qui assureraient la communication avec le QG. Il avait fallu beaucoup de persuasion à Erin pour convaincre les autres de la laisser partir avec Quentin. En tant que porteuse d’un implant, elle était un atout pour #freedomnia. Mais comme le leitmotiv de #freedomnia était la liberté, ils ne l’empêchèrent pas de partir. Erin leur rappela également que tout le monde laissait Pierre tranquille, alors que lui aussi était porteur d’un implant…

Les membres de #freedomnia finirent par comprendre, et on lui assura qu’on n’était pas à une semaine près, que Cerise était là de toute façon, ainsi que Victor et Alexis.

La route fut facile. L’Académie avait beau avoir le bras long et l’appui des gouvernements, comme il s’agissait d’un organe caché, ils ne pouvaient pas se permettre de mettre tout un pays en état de siège pour retrouver des fugitifs.

Le passage de la frontière fut un peu plus stressant. Mais les faux papiers et les déguisements firent leur travail, et la petite troupe se retrouva en Turquie. Dès le lendemain, ils atteignirent Istanbul. Zara et son oncle les attendait dans un petit hôtel du centre-ville. Quentin ne parlait pas turc, mais grâce à l’oncle de Zara, Fahim, et à Erin et son implant, il pu comprendre ce qu’on lui disait.

Ils suivirent l’oncle de Zara dans un petit hôpital, à la périphérie de la ville, laissant les autres à l’hôtel. Là, l’oncle de Zara fut introduit dans le bureau du directeur. Erin ne voyait que leurs ombres derrière la vitre opaque qui séparait le bureau du couloir. Elle se demandait ce qu’il se racontait, mais ils finirent par voir l’oncle de Zara sortir une liasse de billets de sa poche, la donner au directeur. Peu de temps après, ils sortirent du bureau. L’oncle se rapprocha de Zara, Erin et Quentin.

— « On a trois jours, dit Fahim.

— Comment ça ?! répondit Quentin.

— Il peut nous assurer trois jours de tranquillité. Avec ce que je lui ai donné, il m’a garanti qu’il pourra acheter le silence de ses employés et me donner l’équipement et une équipe pour l’opération. Mais dans trois jours, il préférerait que l’on ait quitté les lieux. Il ne peut pas garantir que l’on ne discute pas dans les couloirs et que le fait que l’on soit là s’ébruite.

— Trois jours, c’est court ! Ça risque de mettre Quentin en danger de se presser autant ! s’exclama Erin.

— Pas plus que tu ne l’as été, répondit Quentin. Tu m’as dit qu’a l’Académie, tu étais sortie de l’hôpital en une journée.

— Oui, mais c’est pas pareil, ils savaient ce qu’ils faisaient avec leur implant. Nous, on en a recréé un de toutes pièces avec des spécifications incomplètes, et avec nos connaissances en physiologie. Mais on n’a aucune idée de ce qu’on fait vraiment…

— Tu es bien défaitiste, Erin. Moi, j’ai confiance en Pierre, qui a recréé l’implant. Alexis et Victor ont même été passer un scanner dernièrement pour que l’on ai l’endroit exact de la puce. Et, j’ai aussi confiance en Fahim, qui a la confiance de Zara.

— OK. »

L’opération se passa bien, et Quentin se réveilla au bout d’une journée. Erin resta à ses côtés tout du long, ne s’éclipsant que pour donner des informations sur la mission et l’état de santé aux membres de #freedomnia restés à l’hôtel, qui relayèrent l’information aux personnes du QG. Au bout de deux jours, Quentin était en pleine forme. Effectivement, Fahim était un as, et l’opération n’avait posée aucuns problèmes. Quentin n’avait l’air de n’avoir aucunes séquelles.